The Coptic Orthodox Church

The Coptic Church: is a conservative, traditional, apostolic, biblical and evangelical church.

The Word Coptic: From the Greek word “Aegyptos” then Keptos then Coptic.

The Bible: The Bible is the holy word of God, the OT including the Septuagint and the other canonical books e.g. the Maccabees, Tobit, Judith etc. as well as the NT. The Holy Bible was translated into the Coptic language (Egyptian language) in the second century.

Oneness and Trinity: We believe in One God and the Holy Trinity.

The Hierarchy of the church: The Pope or Patriarch, the Bishops (Metropolitans), the Priests (Hegomens) and the Deacons. The Pope and the Bishops are monks while the priests are married.    

The Founder of the Church: St. Mark, the writer of the second Gospel in the NT is the founder of the Coptic Church. He is one of the 70 apostles. He founded the church in the fifties of the first century and he was martyred in the year 68 of the first century. He started his ministry in Alexandria. That is why the Coptic Church is known as the Church of Alexandria and the Pope is known as the Pope and Patriarch of Alexandria. Our Pope now is the 116 successor of St. Mark; an unbroken line. By the end of the fourth century most of the Egyptians became Christians.

The Christian school of Alexandria is one of the greatest Christian schools.

The Coptic Calendar: It is known as the Calendar of martyrs. It started in the year 284 AM, the year of enthronement of Diocletian the throne of Rome. The year is 365 days (366 days in the leap year). There 12 Coptic months, each with 30 days and one little month (5 or 6 days). The names of these months are the same old pharaonic name.             

The Schism of the Christian Church in 451 AD: Before that year all the Christian churches were one beliefs and the same doctrine.

The Arab Conquest to Egypt was in 642 AD. Coptic Christians are about 15 millions out of 100 millions nowadays.

Monasticism: The first monk allover the world was St. Anthony the great (251-356 AD).

Fourteen Feasts: Seven Major Feasts, The Annunciation by the angel to Virgin Mary, Christmas (The birth of Christ), Epiphany, Palm Sunday, Resurrection (Easter), Ascension and the Pentecost.

The Sacraments of the Church: We believe in seven sacraments. These are sacred actions through which the believers receive an invisible grace through a visible means.

  1. Baptism
  2. Confirmation: Chrismation
  3. Eucharist (communion)
  4. Repentance and Confession.
  5. Anointment of the Sick.
  6. Matrimony. Very low percentage of divorce.
  7. Priesthood and the Holy Orders.

Fasts: Fasting is abstaining from food and drink for a certain period of time, after which foods void of animal products may be eaten. They are the lent, the advent, the fast of the apostles, the fast of Virgin Mary, the fast of Nineveh, Wednesdays and Fridays

Veneration of the Saints: The church expressly forbids the worship of the Saints. We honor them and believe their intercessions, which mean only powerful prayers.

The expansion of the church: Allover the six continents.